Taking A Break

by Di, The Bright Side of Life!

We all know that April is big in the autism community. For us in South Africa, April also means school holidays and long weekends, which makes for a very topsy turvy month! My birthday is in April, although it is a bit of a non event in my house! For my husband, April brings the extra challenge of running the Two Oceans Ultra Marathon in Cape Town.

Funnily enough, my birthday, the marathon and the expiry of my RDI subscription all fall on the same day!

Anyway, for the month of April, I have decided to give myself a birthday present!


I am going to take a break!

Obviously I am not giving myself a break from autism, so to speak! That would be rather silly considering that my child has autism and I certainly can’t ignore him! 🙂

Why am I taking a break?  I am tired, so tired of trying my best, so tired of trying to be Super Mum. I am tired of wearing my sensible big girl undies. I am tired of trying hard to maintain a balance. I admit it, more time and energy is put into my child with special needs than into me or the rest of the family. So, for the month of April I am going to tilt that balance in the opposite direction………

I am also going to give myself permission to NOT FEEL GUILTY if I don’t give my child 100%….. Oops, that sounds a bit far fetched, but I am sure that you catch my drift!

I am not going to think about assignments, interactions and engagement. I am not going to think about following through on the O.T, Physio and SLT homework. In fact, I am going to try really hard not to think about any type of intervention.

If my child wants to eat Spaghetti Bolognaise (loaded with lentils and carrots!) every night during April, well then, so be it! If my boy wants to hop into my bed to watch a bit of TV in the early hours of the morning (not before 6am though!) I think I may join him. 


I am giving myself permission to take a break and not feel guilty about it!

In fact, I am going to be a very chilled mum woman from the first day of April right up until the very last day of April!

I also think that Nick is going to love having a relaxed mum!  I may have a little battle on my hands when May comes around and we commence with the whole routine again! 🙂

Oh yeah, I am also going to Cape Town for a long weekend with the Hubs and Teenager. Can’t let the man run a marathon and not be there to catch him at the finish line. I wish we could take Nick with us; however, there are going to be too many people, too many social functions and too many changes ~ I know that he will be much happier staying at home!


I am giving myself permission to take a break and not feel guilty about it!


HAPPY BIRTHDAY *ME*
**********
Gidday, I am a kiwi girl living in South Africa. I have one husband and two sons that keep me on my toes – Allan (the bald one!) Thomas, who is a typical teenager (although more of an academic than a party boy!). Nick, the boy who has thrown our life inside and out, up and down…. Nick has autism with co-occurring issues!! All in all, our life to date has been very interesting!!
This post was originally published HERE and used with permission.
6 Comments

Filed under Remembering to Breathe, Taking the next step

6 responses to “Taking A Break

  1. sandra

    Wow!!! Good for you! I often maintain that u cannot care for people around u, when u do not care for yourself first! Hope you enjoy Cape Town! Come visit us in the wine counrty…half hour drive!

    • Di

      Thank you! I would love to come and visit you,,,,, unfortunately we have so much on because of the Two Oceans marathon. Rain check?? x

  2. Love this! Good for you!

  3. Katy Harries

    Lovely Di

Leave a Reply

